In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent times, it is very common for many pupils to travel overseas to complete their higher education. This type of education is certainly beneficial for students from under-developed countries which provide them with an opportunity to chose a wide range of science courses, as well as meeting students from different backgrounds and nationalities but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there is a number of advantages of studying abroad for higher education. Firstly, one benefit for overseas students is that there is a variety of science courses to choose from. Universities in underdeveloped countries may lack proper scientific equipment and don't have laboratories where students can perform research work. Western universities, on the other hand, have funding from the government, which they can utilise to upgrade their existing scientific facilities and offers an excellent research platform for their students. Secondly, western universities provide an environment where students from different nationalities can form friendships and develop their professional network in different countries with the help of their peers. For example, many Indian students when graduate from these universities, tend to become an entrepreneur and their first customers are generally those whom they have developed a relationship with during their university years. On the other hand, one problem with students going abroad is that it can have a devastating financial burden on their parents. Tertiary education is usually expensive going up to USD 50, 000 per year. This high cost is generally born by the parents of these students who take bank loans on high-interest rates to cover these massive fees, and when it comes to returning that loan, they either have to find other jobs or have to compromise on their daily expenditures which make their life miserable. Another possible issue is that students face difficulties acclimatizing themselves in the new country. In Canada, for example, students coming from countries with modest temperatures tend to become ill due to the cold and harsh environment that affects their studies as well as their pockets. In conclusion, while students can benefit from studying abroad, it can also lead to financial stress for their parents or adaption issues for the students themselves.