In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have the opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In the twentieth century, it became more common for people to move about the world for various reasons, including education. Now it is reasonably common for students to go abroad to study for a few weeks or even a whole semester on programmes like the Erasmus in Europe. This essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages of this sort of arrangement. The advantages of international study are numerous and obvious. To begin with, studying abroad can give students more opportunities for academic advancement, language acquisition, and even networking to help them find jobs when they graduate. This sort of experience helps break down cultural barriers between people of different backgrounds, and also allows for the exchange of knowledge and skill between different institutions. In short, there are many different reasons why it is advantageous for this sort of exchange programme to be established. The disadvantages, on the other hand, are few and comparatively minor. Of course, students who go to live abroad may experience homesickness and culture shock. They may also find that, if their language skills are subpar, they may learn little from their lectures and perform poorly in examinations compared to if they had studied in their home country. From a very different perspective, it is also quite possible that international student exchange could be used in programmes of espionage, as countries may send spies abroad in the guise of students to investigate the research programmes at major universities. In conclusion, there are many advantages to studying abroad from the perspective of students, and also from the standpoint of society and the institutions themselves. The disadvantages are fewer, more minor, and in some cases a bit far-fetched.