Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Do you agree or disagree?

Now, there is much debate over whether to give young people the same punishment as adult criminals if they both commit severe crimes like robbery or violent assaults. I would give a negative answer. Those advocates might argue that the impartial practice, by demonstrating the principle of equity and justice of law, could console the victims and their families. In addition, such an approach also functions as a deterrent to more potential crimes by underage youths, as they will fear the high price of breaking the law. However, the seemingly fair practice can be too reckless. To start with, it is their custodians who should take joint responsibility rather than the young offenders alone, for they are generally not mature enough, lacking the awareness of law and consideration of the consequences of what they do. For instance, when a teenager seriously hits a man or even takes his life in DUI, his parents should be blamed more for allowing him to drive and the pub or the store should also be penalized for illegally selling alcohol to youngsters. Moreover, adolescents deserve a second chance and should not be cruelly deprived of their future. Their flower-like life has just begun and they still have a long way to go, with so much beauty to quest in the future, while the adult criminals should be fully responsible for their sins, for in most cases, their crimes are intentional. Teenagers are the future of a nation. When they fall into the evil trap, what we should do is not penalize them coldly. Instead, humane guidance and reeducation is a better way.