In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Recently, there is an increasing number of students opting to study abroad. This trend has created certain benefits, but there will be also some negative effects. On the one hand, studying overseas may provide students with better career opportunities. An international bachelor’s degree has global recognition and it will be easy to impress employers. As an example, McKinsey Vietnam is a subsidiary of the world’s most renowned consulting company. Now they are just recruiting people who have experienced tertiary education in foreign countries. Because working in a multinational corporation means that their staff has had to travel regularly between different nations, so the adaptability competency becomes the top requirement. Therefore, individuals have exposed to various norms, cultures and personalities will be priorities’ recruiter. On the other hand, the drawbacks of this development is the students come from different places in the world may face many mental problems that would affect adversely their academic performances. It is clear that when a person lives in the culture, which are completely different to the one they have accustomed to, will find it hard to make friends and unable to get used to the environment. Consequently, those students feel difficult to focus on study. A British education report 2019, for instance, showed that international students who have extreme mental issues, such as homesickness, culture shock, etc. Can not concentrate fully in their study. As a result, the results of them often are lower than the ones have adjusted with the foreign environment. In conclusion, the benefit of spending the time on third-stage education in foreign countries is better opportunities for the future. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of problems associated with mentality they may have to deal with.