The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree?

Family environment and upbringing has a huge impact on the psychology of a child. It is the value system they are brought up in that shapes their personalities. I completely agree that parenting skills play a major role in how children behave in society. Many studies point to an unhappy childhood as the root cause of juveniles committing acts of crime. Parenting skills are an ignored topic in many societies. Learning how to communicate better with children is a skill that needs nurturing and development over time. One needs to understand the impact that bad parenting can have on children. In recent years we have seen a rise in Juvenile crime. This could be due to families becoming more nuclear and not having the support or wisdom of elders in the family. There is also an increasing trend of both parents working which can make a child feel alone and disconnected from the family. Given these circumstances, it becomes essential for parents to communicate well and to plan their schedules effectively. These skills are not viewed as essential by a lot of parents. This can have a negative impact on the behavior of a child and cause feelings of depression, anger and sadness. If these feelings are left unaddressed, they can escalate into acts of crime. For a harmonious and peaceful society, every individual needs to contribute and develop the future generation is a task that starts at home. Hence, teaching parenting skills to parents is the right approach to decreasing the crime rate of young offenders.