In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

Shopping has become a status symbol these days compared to olden days. Earlier people used to shop only when there was a need. However, now people shop when they have nothing else to do. It has become a time spending activity. In this essay I shall discuss on both the views and give my opinion on what extent I think it is a good trend. In olden days, people used to do shopping only there was a necessity. Like they were doing shopping monthly for bringing the essential grocery items or household things. Furthermore, they were buying clothes only during festivals that too once a year. To illustrate, in the early days of my childhood, I used to get new cloth only on two occasions: Ugadi Festival and my school uniform. On the contrary, these days people shop to spend their time and consider it has a hobby. This generation buys things not because there is a need, but to spend money or to be on trend with the latest styles. Also, they end up in spending more money. But they are unaware of the fact that this time pass hobby has become their addiction to pull their hard-earned money. For example, recent survey which was published in the Times of India newspaper stated that, there is a drastic increase in the trend of shopping from 20% to 80% in the last 5 years. In my opinion, shopping is not a positive trend. Shopping for necessity things is needed, but it should not become the addiction or hobby. In conclusion, by looking at the above data and information shopping moderately to fulfil our basic needs is always good. However, it should not be considered as a hobby.