In the past shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people now-a -days regard it as a hobby.

The concept of shopping has changed over time. Although before it used to be done as a part of essential household chores commonly, many considered shopping as a hobby in present time. In my opinion, while I partially believe that it has a positive effect on individual, I also think taking shopping as a hobby has numerous damaging effect on family and society. To shop is regarded as an important pastime of individual life in this busy modern era. Peoples living in North American culture are easily stressed out and become exhausted after long working hours in office. Therefore, sometimes specially in winter, when there is less chance of outdoor activity, they just go to shopping mall probably thinking of buying something. Rather it works as an act of relaxation. For example, they may buy some stuffs along with window shopping, meeting with their friends or relatives, having coffee, enjoying movies in cineplex. All the activities help a person to start fresh for the next week, whatever stress they might have. So, when I think of that perspective, I partially believe that shopping as a hobby has some beneficial effect on personal life. However, taking shopping as a hobby has some serious effects on family and social life. Many people are just shopaholics, who buy stuffs just for the seek of buying, though they really do not need it at all. This can cause unnecessary wastage of money, social pressure to keep up with trends. The time they are wasting doing needless shopping can be used more creatively with the family. Thus, the bonding among family members is suffering. Another common issue is that, price for everything is continuously rising as opposed to the wage. So, for instance, for a person who do shopping for a hobby, needs a handsome salary to cope up with the demand. And to some extent due to this habit, they can go under huge debt, which is deleterious for the society. In conclusion, as because shopping at present offers lots of variation and choice than before, it is more enjoyable than buying necessities. Though, personal preference can make it pleasurable or painful, I think there should be a balance, then it will exert its positive effects.