In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

Shopping was an everyday job in earlier times, but in recent times it is considered as a hobby by a lot of people. In my opinion, excessive shopping can lead to buying trivial things, thereby leading to bad debts and financial breakdown especially in case of teenagers. However, it is also a good thing that people are more intrigued into the shopping which makes them aware about products and offers. Firstly, shopping in earlier times included buying rudimentary things needed for everyday household activities such as cooking etc. But in recent times, shopping is considered as buying materialistic and expensive things such as clothes, mobile phones etc. Nowadays people, especially teenagers prefer to spend their leisure time in malls with their friends during weekends and thus, are distracted with the charisma of materialistic products which leads to bad decisions about buying irrelevant things. Secondly, excessive shopping can exacerbate financial conditions of an individual as well. Nowadays, with increased use of digital currency and credit cards, people tend to make unnecessary decisions about buying the stuffs, which they will never use and get trapped in financial difficulties. Contrastingly, shopping as a hobby has also helped consumers to grab better offers and learn insights about how they can get better deals. According to the facts, the number of people getting cheated and paying extra for the products has declined over this decade as compared to previous decades. This has also led to extra savings, which can be used for other purposes. To conclude, shopping can have a positive impact if one does it after making rationale decisions depending on the necessity of the things otherwise, excessive shopping can lead into deep financial troubles which often impacts other areas of life as well.