“Your first impressions when you meet someone are always right. ” Write your essay giving your opinion using examples from your own experience.

In previous years, numerous low budget shops have been discontinued due to the reason that shoppers nowadays prefer to purchase items from huge shopping centres. In my opinion, this is a negative development because the local shopkeepers have lost their livelihoods, and the prices of goods in large shopping malls are quite unreasonable. To commence with, due to large shopping places being formed and local small shops being shut, the local shopkeepers have lost their employment. Earlier, all the citizens in the vicinity of local shops use to buy items from these shops, which has been discontinued. Consequently, the shopkeepers find it challenging to run their shops profitably. Providing convincing evidence, a recent study by the prestigious Oxford University has found that 60% of the shopkeepers have to work double shifts for their sustenance due to the decline in their shop's business. Continuing with the drawbacks of large shopping malls, the customers have to pay huge amounts of money to buy commodities or to avail any services. To elaborate more, it can be seen as a disadvantage to the shoppers because earlier they use to purchase things at much cheaper prices from the local vendors. All the facilities and goods are present at the same place in a shopping mall; nevertheless, the prices are excessively high. For instance, I bought a pair of trousers from Select city mall whose price was 15% more than its price at a local shop. In conclusion, the growth of shopping centres is a sign of development in a country; however, small local shop's closure is a negative development over the years. From my perception, the local shops should also be promoted as they are the livelihood for some masses.