Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. What measures can be taken to protect them?

Companies are spending more on marketing than ever before. With increasing competition, businesses are promoting their products aggressively. Therefore, I believe customers are getting influenced immensely. This essay will discuss the consumers' response by these advertisements and some solutions. Firstly, there is a lot of false information that companies convey about their products. This leads to people believing everything they watch on television or online. The main reason is the cut-throat competition, and to survive they have to sell their products, no matter what. Agencies usually hire already popular celebrities, to gain everybody's trust. For instance, to promote health supplements, athletes are chosen, the customer starts connecting the healthy lifestyle and fitness of that sportsmen with the supplement. One possible solution to the problem can be, celebrities should research all about the brand before endorsing. It will ensure the audience gets the right product. Secondly, with marketing we end up having more items than we need. Misleading promotions are the main reason behind it. For example, if we ever see a luxury brand commercial, they always focus on rich people's lifestyle. This is because, they want to connect their brand with luxury, which has a little to do with the actual product. I feel, government should monetize these commercials, they should check the product's authenticity first, and any type of online marketing should also be checked. To conclude, companies will always find loopholes in the system, to exploit it. Unless the government impose strict rules, the problem will only escalate. Also, It should be the responsibility of citizens, to check what to trust because the false information will be there.