In the past, people used to travel abroad to look many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that in contemporary society, there are no longer many noticable differences among distinguished cities around the globe, while in the past, people were extremely keen on traveling to discover new features that their regions did not possess. In my opinion, this tendency can be explained in various ways and it may bring about both negative and positive consequences. There are two main reasons why cross-country cities are becoming the same. Firstly, developing nations have adopted a great number of architectural styles from their developed counterparts in order to create a modern appearance. To exemplify this, Vietnamese people used to build traditional stilt houses for accomodation but these days, they are more likely to be interested in foreign designs such as French villa. Secondly, international cuisine has also integrated in every country. Therefore, visitors often see several restaurants serving their home country’s food when travelling to other parts of the world. On the one hand, acculturation can be positive to some extent. It is obvious that nowadays, immigrants can quickly adapt to a new living environment compared to various difficulties they had to encounter formerly. For example, when settling in Korea, my Japanese friend has found using subway rather easy because she was accustomed to it since living in Japan. On the other hand, the similarities among cities across the world can be considered from an opposite angle. The development of those cities’ tourism industry might be gradually decelerated due to the lack of cultural uniqueness. Particularly, there will be a significant decline in the number of foreign visitors coming to each nation. In conclusion, in this day and age, numerous cities in different continents have certain characteristics in common, but not all of the outcomes resulting from this phenomenon have been positive.