In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Historical architectures emblem the cultural heritage of a society and serve as a source of attraction and inspiration for the dwellers and tourists. The uniqueness of buildings in urban areas is gradually replaced by standard construction stencils and cities all over the globe are becoming identical. This essay will analyse some reasons for this convergence and will provide an opinion on this practice. With the advent of modern equipment, machinery and following similar standards of construction, metropolitan reveal a great deal of similarities in the architecture of buildings. This is primarily due to the increased land price where builders find it more economical to erect a building than to construct one unit housing scheme. Another reason is to provide inhabitants with the similar lifestyle. For instance, multipurpose shopping malls in Karachi and Lahore have similar structure featuring parking space, food courts, and ticket vending machines and so on. Moreover, governments are adopting similar planning and construction footprints to ensure all housing schemes, multipurpose complex, offices and so on are developed on modern layouts to save the environment from pollution, protect natives from furies of mother nature and so on. However, these modern practices come up with their own challenges can be rated good or bad for cities. Laudable arguments are that tourist feels homely, and people have same services and lifestyle. On the other hand, these advancements are damaging the cultural heritage and iconic features of a city which stands out in the world and are taking away its pride and inimitability. To conclude, modern construction practices have resulted in marvels and revamped the metropolitans. In my opinion, it is a good thing, but proper measures should be taken by the government to preserve the historic architecture and sights of a city.