In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

These days, almost everyone prefers to live in urban areas where they hardly know other people staying in their neighbourhood. However, most people used to live in rural areas in the past, and they used to know each other very well. While both of these choices offer some merits, we will discuss the pros and cons of living in a small community. Firstly, there is no traffic in rural areas. This means that there is no air pollution, and people can inhale fresh and toxic free air, which prevents many diseases to occur. For example, in October 2019, Lahore city of Pakistan covered with smog, which resulted in sickness of myriad people. The cause of that smog was the large number of vehicles on roads. Secondly, as people know everyone in the village, they help each other in the time of need. For instance, if a pregnant woman is alone in the house and she gets labour pain, neighbours will rush her to the nearest clinic, which is not the case in large cities. In contrast, there are few disadvantages of living in villages as well. One is that unavailability of hospitals. This cause suffering of patients and often leads to death, because ambulances take time to reach to the village, and once they arrive, patients are taken to cities, where hospitals are located. By that time, the sick person may not bear the pain and die on the way. Another demerit is provision of quality education. It is observed in many villages that there are no proper schools for children. To summerize, the merits of living in villages are clean oxygen to inhale and getting help of other people in need, whereas cons are non availability of hospitals and schools.