In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

It is a common view that villagers seemed to be more friendly and neighborly than their counterparts who lived in big, modern cities in the old days. While I recognize some potential drawbacks of country life, my belief is that there were more merits. In my opinion, people living in small villages had to face a range of negative factors that might urge them to migrate to bigger cities. Those factors range from limited industry and lack of job opportunities to less access to qualified education. For example, a person had to travel hundreds of kilometers to get to college on the grounds of the absence of such schools in his neighborhood. Consequently, there have been many large migrations from rural to urban areas over the past half century. From the recreational perspective, countryside residents also seemed not to have enough entertaining choices to enjoy the artistic and cultural life with very few museums or theaters in town, which in turn caused a great sense of boredom and tediousness. Despite those negatives mentioned above, I believe that small towns could offer various benefits to our past generations. Foremost among these was perhaps living space in rural areas which apparently were much slower and more relaxed than that of urban areas. For instance, people always spared their precious time to chat and share life stories with each other on their way to work or simply heading to a local market. As a result, country-dwellers were often regarded as friendly inhabitants who would be willing to give a helping hand to others without hesitation. Another robust reason of living in a small community was the element of less traffic on the road, which allowed drivers to commute more comfortable and less stressful. Again, we can see that this would greatly help to create a friendly and welcoming living space for many people of older generations. In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of living in the countryside by no means outweigh its advantages when we take living pace and traffic congestion into consideration