In the past, lectures were used as a way of teaching large number of students, but now with the development of technology for education, many people think there is no justification for attending lectures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology has changed every aspect of our life including the way we learn and teach. Nowadays it is possible to earn degrees online. Online forums allow you to ask questions on any topic and receive answers within a matter of minutes. However, I still believe that online education cannot replace classroom based learning and teaching. Online learning has its advantages. You can learn from the comforts of your home. The flexible learning hours are a boon for people who can’t afford to spend 6 or 7 hours in the classroom. Also, the internet has made it possible for learners to find teachers from any part of the world. So, for example, a student who wants to learn Spanish can find Spanish teachers online and learn from her home. She doesn’t have to go to Spain or find an institution that teaches Spanish in her country. Online learning has its disadvantages too. Since there is no one to supervise your work or evaluate your progress you need a great amount of motivation and discipline to complete your course successfully. Distractions are a real problem for students doing online programs. By contrast, classroom learning does not have many of these drawbacks. The best thing about classroom learning is that it creates an ambiance conducive to learning. In a class you are surrounded by other students who also want to score higher grades. This encourages you to work harder. In addition, subjects like medicine and engineering cannot be taught online because the emphasis is on practical not theory. To conclude, online learning may have its benefits, but I still feel that classroom learning is superior to online learning. That said, the internet and information technology has endless possibilities. Both students and teachers will benefit a lot if they take advantage of the power of the internet in the classroom.