In the past, it was unusual for most people to change careers more than once or twice. Now it is quite common for people to have ten or more different jobs in their lifetimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a change?

These days, people tend to change their careers more frequently than they used to, which is deemed uncommon in the past. Personally, I believe that this trend brings both benefits and drawbacks to both the individuals themselves and society as a whole. On the one hand, it is disadvantageous for one to change his or her job frequently. Firstly, one may have experience in the new job, being unable to achieve such efficiency, may result in having low payout or eventually fired. Secondly, those job hoppers may not be respected by other employees or the employer of their new job, especially in companies that promote loyalty. These people may not create a stable income for themselves and family, creating a heavy burden on both the family and society. On the other hand, there is a myriad of benefits awaiting the ones who are switching jobs. People may find them unsuited for their old jobs or other career-related problems, tend to switch to another job, which may let them find more interest, helping them achieve higher efficiency, creating a stable income. In addition to this, the involvement in part-time jobs would create more income flows for them, gaining more qualifications and experience, improving their knowledge. In this way, the individuals themselves would have better material and mental life, allowing society to prosper. In conclusion, the risk of being unemployed or having a low payout would be a handicap of changing jobs frequently throughout one’s life, while the chance of having a better life is also a plus point of career-changing. Career changing not only affect people themselves but also the whole community.