In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern technological century, people can do many activities via the internet, such as shopping, working and even keep in touch with relatives of friends by using video call. I believe that living without face-to-face communication has brought a significant number of drawbacks, but I would partly agree with this statement. On the one hand, residents’ life will be more convenient and easy due to the dramatically increased of the Internet. To begin with, the people nowadays are able to shopping and working online which will not time-consuming because they can stay at home and do anything without travelling with a long distance. Almost the consumer’s home, and they just need to pay for shipping fee, which is always cheaper and sometime there is some promotion so the product’s price can be discounted. Moreover, the Internet brings user the opportunities to contact with the friends or relatives that they cannot meet in the daily life due to the distance. For example, there are a substantial number of apps such as Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp to call for every day from all around the world. On the other, although social network and internet have a huge of benefits, there are also some drawbacks of these online sources. Initially, the interactive communication would be reduced because the citizens spend too much time on surfing the Internet to shop and chat. For instance, children in the modern life have tended to play game on the Internet, so they do not have time for outdoor activities like football, go camping, and so on, which helps them to comprehensive development. Besides, lacking the socializing skill, the citizens can cause some health problems like myopia, obesity, and so on. To sum up, the benefits it brings do not justify the fact that it is damaged badly on our interactive communication.