Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

There is an opinion asserting that governments should not spend their budgets on arts because it is a waste of money. Instead, they should allocate this sum of money for improving public services. I somehow agree with the given assertion and in this essay, I am going to explain my reasons in detail. To begin with, countries could introduce their culture to the world simply through their arts. To put it another way, arts such as music or theatre could make an indigenous culture known to the world on the grounds that each country injects aspects of its own culture into their arts. Take Japan, which has a unique cultural heritage, as an illustration, by listening to their music we could gain valuable insight into their culture and it would awaken our interest in this country; as a result, many people are bound to travel there and this would significantly increase economic growth. On the other hand, it is prominent to expend money on public services as well. The quality of life in a country should be a priority for the people in charge. Therefore, public services such as hospitals and public transportation need to be of paramount importance to a government due to the fact that it contributes to the people's well-being. That is to say, the higher the quality of public services in a country, the easier it is to live there. A recent survey conducted in London has revealed that people's well-fare rests largely with the quality of public services that they receive; hence, not only would invest money in public services help to have a satisfied society but also the public perception of the government's performance would become more positive. All things considered, although I agree that it is important to spend money on public services, I do not think spending on the arts is a waste of money.