In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live with any face to face contact with others. is it a positive or negative development

It is true that in the era of technology, most people all over the world use it for shopping online, working from home and communicating with others. Besides its upside, there it still has some downside that should not be lost sight of. On the one hand, the Internet have virtues in many respects. More and more people utilise it for online shopping nowadays. This could save on time and help reduce traffic congestion during rush hour in big cities. Moreover, many freelancers are able to work from home and students opt for online courses instead of going to school. In addition, the internet is an effective means of communication that allows people to keep in touch with their family and friends by sending instant messages via social media such as Facebook and Whatsapp. They can also make friends with foreigners to learn languages. On the other hand, people still need face to face interactions because there are some repercussions of abusing the Internet. First, virtual relationships on some online platforms might be not genuine. Many newspapers reported about unethical paedophile cases in relation to online friendship. Second, online shopping is sometimes unfit. For instance, it is better to try on clothes before buying. Finally, work in office help staff members to discuss efficiently and avoid misunderstandings. In conclusion, although the Internet brings benefits to humanity, it also have certain implications with regard to lacking personal contact.