Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued by some people that getting a university degree is the best way to get a good job, while others think that improving soft skills and getting experience is way important. In my opinion, I think that it depends on the job type and the field one is trying to get into. Completing university education is important to get some types of jobs such as medical and teaching jobs. These types of jobs requires special knowledge and skills that, most of the time, can not be grasped anywhere but the university. For example, it does not make sense to hire a doctor that took online courses online or some skills in a workshop. Also, teaching skills is a complicated thing that one can not learn on his own. For such careers, I agree that the person should get a degree to get into them. On the other hand, enrolling into online courses or taking certain workshops to get knowledge or some skills is more than enough for business and programming careers. There are a lot of material, online or in workshops, that convey the information needed to people even better than a university class since one is enrolled to get a specific type of knowledge. So, if one is intending to learn a programming language, he can simply take a specialised course for this sake, and no need to go to the university to gain such skill. I believe that such jobs require skills that can be gained without a university degree. To sum up, although the university degree can boost one chances to find a good job, some types of jobs require certain skills that can be self-gained without a degree.