In the future it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of old people than younger people in many countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is an undeniable and widely believed fact that in coming years the number of elderly people will exceed that of young men and women across the globe. This essay totally agrees with the idea that this situation will adversely affect the world because of a higher tax burden due to increasing pensions, on working people and more contribution of the country’s GDP towards health care. As the headcount of older people will increase the government will be compelled to provide pensions to aged citizens. Since in most of the nation’s people retire at the age of 60 so they won’t be able to contribute to duty issued by states. It is the younger middle class who will need to pay this hike in tariff and duties so that the funds can be collected, in order to have an abundant amount of money for pensions. For example, in Italy, as the count of aged people is increasing, the state had to launch a new tax just devoted to allowance for the senior citizens. Because of this Livelihoods of middle class working people were badly impacted. Another reason why the growing number of old people pose a serious threat to society is that aged people are more prone to be diagnosed with chronic diseases. Due to this, a significant amount of money needs to be diverted towards public health care. Every country wants to excel in diverse fields like space research or sports. However, as life is precious, so the funds allocated for other developments are assigned in public health to battle various types of illnesses. For instance, a considerable amount of reserves were reallocated to fight diabetes in senior women, from a space exploration mission in India. This will actually stagnate the overall growth of a nation and is certainly not desirable to other citizens. In conclusion, older people will majorly contribute to the world’s demographics and will outnumber the people who are young. In my opinion, this condition will put a strain on the government’s economic plan by burdening tax regimes and more attention towards healthcare and this is certainly an unfavourable aspect for the world.