In the circumstances of the present-day world, children should be given every encouragement to regard the learning of several languages as normal; to suggest the contrary seems both prejudiced and harmful. Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

In the technology world nowadays, more and more people are concerned about the knowledge of many languages. Thus, some people have the opinion that children should be stimulated to understand different languages. However, there are some people argue that children shouldn’t approach non-native languages. In this text, I will show all of my thinking about these issues. On the one hand, learning foreign languages can cause bad consequences to adolescents. Some groups of researchers have proclaimed that speaking the native languages tends to give the users expertise of those ones. Moreover, the key to success lies in quality, not quantity; rather than scrambling to learn five languages superficially, it seems more reasonable to excel in only one or two Shakespeares himself was said to know little Greek or Latin, both being prerequisite for scholarly and literary writings at the time, yet he utilized his mother tongue and imagination to create the most enduring works of literature. Last but not least, children need to concentrate on learning their mother tongue rather than learning a foreign language. Learning a new language at an early age may be confusing and wastes time. This learning may delay development of the child’s first vocabularies. From my perspectives, I totally agree with the idea that learning various languages will make youngsters more successful in the future. Languages become the primary mediator for delivering or sharing information. The stock of English has always been high, with billions of learners all over the world. English is well known as an international standard language and it is very important for those who live in this globalization era. Furthermore, having knowledge of many languages can help children grant access to multicultural information, advanced technology, better employment prospects, etc. English also takes a large part in the growth of technology. Almost every electronic device uses English, especially computing and the internet. That is because most of the scientists write programs in English, although some of them use English as their second language. In conclusion, I restate my opinion that it is extremely necessary to know one or more foreign languages. Finally, I highly recommend that foreign language teaching programmes be developed and applied in education, especially at high schools and at an early age.