In the circumstances of the present-day world, children should be given every encouragement to regard the learning of several languages as normal; to suggest the contrary seems both prejudiced and harmful

In the modern-day world, multilingualism can not only enrich our knowledge in loads of fields such as politics, cultures, history, etc. , but also help people to get access to the civilization of mankind. Thus, some people hold the view that children should be emboldened that learning several languages is an ordinary thing to do while others disagree, saying that this may cause harm to them. This essay will weigh up both sides of the argument and give justifications why I advocate the former view. On the one hand, being able to speak different languages will help the children become more confident as they have a chance to approach to numerous practical information. That means it will give the speakers, a significant advantage over others in the global job market. Ever since America and Britain became one of the greatest nations, English is as well regarded as a worldwide language. While in the past, parents would let their children go to several English classes with a view to mastering their children’s English level, in these days, just becoming skilled at two languages is barely adequate. Therefore, children are obligated to learn a third or fourth one in order to develop their potential as much as possible. On the other hand, the multilingual curriculum can be a double-edged sword. Without proper methods, schools will accidentally put pressure on their students. The key to success depends on quality, not quantity. Learning different languages in a short time might be over with some of them. Children who are suffering from stress will not be able to focus on any specific language. This will have a negative impact on both their study results and mental health. Last but not least, although studying many languages is encouraged by government and many other people, parents should not consider this to be normal. They are inadvertently supporting the false belief that an inability to do such is abnormal and by chance widening the gap between the wealthy and the poor. In conclusion, although some people may argue that multilingual learning do harm to children, I am strongly convinced that stimulating children to discover other languages advance them in many ways. Hopefully, the educational system can be soon completed so that children will no longer endure with tension.