In spite of the many advances women have made in education and employment, they continue to be at a disadvantage when it comes to pay and promotion. In your view, what should be done to promote equality of opportunity for men and women in the workplace?

Females have made huge strides in education and job sector, despite this, they are increasingly not favoured when it comes to salaries and career advancement. In my opinion, women should be given the same opportunities as their male counterparts. Firstly, females should be given more responsibilities, they should not be seen as inadequate or not up to the tasks. They are to be considered able and capable to handle all assignments as the opposite sex. This will enable them to function better mentally and psychologically. For instance, in my job as a Facilities Manager and my male colleagues earn better pay and compensation packages that I do, even though we have the same job description. Secondly, equality is healthy and vital to the workplace as this will give the ladies a sense of belonging. Their achievements should be recognised and celebrated more. This can be done by employers organising awareness programmes on the importance of having women in the workplace. This will be an eye-opener to everyone and also help the women because they will be able to perform under better conditions, instead of being stereotyped. For example, I use to work on a site where I was the only lady and the men always feel I should not be working with them. However, my boss took us to a conference on women empowered and everyone's mindset changed totally. Finally, office policies on recruitment should intentionally include women in the same quantity as men. Companies should set consequences for gender discrimination and unacceptable performance environments. Include progressive disciplinary procedures that the company will follow if one employee files a complaint against another employee. In conclusion, every employer should create an environment that encourages open communication and candour amongst the employees.