In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

The field of agriculture has witnessed several improvements, but quite a number of people in various countries of the world still experience hunger. This is majorly as a result of climate change, and lack of funds to procure resilient crop varieties, storage and transport facilities. Solutions exist for these problems that have been identified. Firstly, a major reason for hunger in some countries is the problem of climate change. With increasing release of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, and its attendant global warming, several regions are experiencing extremes of weather conditions such as floods, droughts, and storms. This results in a shift in the ecological system, increasing the occurrence of different diseases, and a s result, the growth and survival of different plants and animals species cannot be supported by these weather changes. Consequently, less food is available for residents in such regions. Furthermore, the lack of funds to procure high yield pest resistant seeds, storage and transport facilities contribute significantly to the famine experienced in some countries. In other words, the seeds available for cultivation are easily destroyed by pests. While some of these seeds can be salvaged through storing, inadequate storage facilities will result in spoilage. Also, lack of transport facilities from farms to consumers, including good roads, rails, and/or vehicles also increases the risks of hunger. However, there are several measures that can be taken to tackle these issues. To begin with, the government should invest in improved farming methods that bypass the effects of climate change. For instance, this can be in the form of using greenhouses for planting. Additionally, funds should be budgeted for purchasing high quality seeds, storage equipment, and on improved transport system. In conclusion, although hunger is a menace in some nations of the world, the government's provision of funds and investment in advanced farming methods will help combat this issue.