In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

World hunger has been a major problem since mankind began. Many reasons has been attributed as the cause of this issue and over the years, solutions has been sought. Despite the numerous technological revolutions in agriculture all through the centuries, the world has still conquered starvation. In my opinion, hunger still persists because of wars in certain areas and also because the rich have not taken the poor seriously. One major reason why hunger persists despite technological advancements in farming is because of strife among nations. In essence, when countries fight each other, they destroy crops and food in order to limit the strength of the opposition. For example, there was mass destruction of farm lands during the world wars fought in the twentieth century and this consequently led to global food shortages. This resulted in deaths of millions of people and inability to continue the war. Another major reason is greed amongst rich people. The rich do not care about the welfare of the poor and hence they do not invest in production of food in the nations where they dwell. This has gradually left many poor people hungry without and though there have been technological improvements in farming, these people are too poor to benefit. I believe that if nations sort to find solutions for their differences, there will be no wars. This means that countries must take a deliberate effort at ensuring that they do not fight one another. In this case, it means that countries should set up a global judicial system such that issues between countries can be resolved amicably. This would ensure that no one destroys food because of strife. Also, the rich should invest in production of foods commonly consumed by low income earners. In other words, if rich people invest money on equipment for manufacture of cheap foods, then world hunger will be history. A case in point is the instance when the people of Monrovia established factories for mass production of semolina. This caused lots of people to resort to consumption of semolina and hence hunger issue was stopped. In conclusion, although there are reasons why hunger persists despite technological evolvement in agriculture, finding other means to resolve disputes and investments in poor people’s food production are sure ways to eliminate world hunger.