In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it positive or negative development?

Museums are seen as a place with different functions, some people take it to be an entertainment option, while others believe museums are meant to be a schooling method. In my opinion, I do believe museums are places to educate oneself, with more enjoyable ways of learning comparable to just reading a book. However, various things like games, antiques and ancient stories may be found in museums, the main reason why they were invented was more likely to teach people about certain topics or interest according to the museum's content. For instance, teachers at schools may refer to these places for their students or even organise a visit to any of them as part of their classes, because museums can be seen as a significant place full of knowledge. On the other hand, museums are thought to be an entertainment option many could choose to visit. Because of the variety of information and distinct manners used in the museums to display what they want the people to enjoy such masterpieces, antiques or games related to a historical moment; these places can also be entertained for some people. Therefore, tourists, for example, could decide to go visit a museum of a place they are travelling to, in order to learn more about the city or region in general, which will also be an entertainment option because they decide to do this activity as part of their vacation. To conclude, personally I think that museums have both purposes: to educate and to entertain people, because there can be seen as a different type of schooling where people of all ages can visit to learn about a specific topic with materials that help completing the understanding and the knowledge learned, while having some fun.