In some countries, young people are less polite and respectful to the old. What are the causes? What can be done to solve this?

It is true that young adults have a tendency to show less politeness and respect for their elders. Although there are undoubtedly causes of this issue, both families and societies can take steps to mitigate this negative trend. As people’s lives have been better improved, and societies have increasingly developed, youngsters’ morality is more seriously concerned. First of all, due to the lack of closeness in families, children are usually not taught about respectfulness and politeness by their parents, who are always busy with jobs. As a result, these children cannot be aware of how to behave appropriately to those who are older. The parents in a family even sometimes show disrespectfulness or disobedience for their elderly relatives, grandparents in particular, and the juveniles will be more likely to be shaped into discourtesy in relation to this kind of ill-mannered pattern. Further causes will include negative influences of friends, television and the Internet on teenagers’ consciousness, and they will tend to learn behaviours of impoliteness, which they might have towards other people, especially the seniors. There are several actions that each family together with the community could take to solve the problems described above. The first important solution is for those responsible for parenthood to self-improve behaviours and attitudes towards the elderly. In this way, their children will be more likely to be associated with good behavioural formation from a very young age. It is also vital to encourage parental connectedness in order for the parents to have reasonable time with their offspring for humanistic education, and being respectful and polite for the grandparents is the most basic step. A second measure would be that civic education should be considered as a major subject in schools in an effort to raise young students’ perception of morality. Finally, governments have responsibility to control social networks and televised contents on channels in an attempt to prevent negative trends impacting the young generation. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as young adolescents’ ethics is declining.