In some countries, university students live at home with their families while they study in the same city, whereas, in other countries they live away from home while they study. Do the benefits of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, with mounting competition in education some university undergraduates live away from home during their study. It is agreed that the advantage of this outweighs the disadvantage. This essay provides some considerable empirical evidences to support the statement. To begin with, it is noted that living away from the family during higher studies provides numerous benefits. To commence with one of the most paramount advantages, is the independence they enjoy while parents are away, which also teach them valuable things in its own interesting way. To enumerate, the students learn basic life skills such as time management and management of finances, which are the major abilities needed by a person. For example, in a recent survey conducted by the UK government, most of the respondents have favourable responses because being independent leads to a successful life. If the students are not given the opportunity to live away from their family, then their dependence on their parents may hamper their success in life. It is clear that being alone and away from family will be beneficial in later adult life. However, the major disadvantage of studying away from home is a lack of family support. In other words, most of such students often complain about their sufferings regarding emotional attachments with family and unfulfilled psychological needs. Even the presence of advanced technology platforms such as the social websites and video calling applications are not enough to fill their sense of belonging. Students at a young age are vulnerable to such emotional feeling of homesickness and loneliness. For instance, most of students blame this factor as culprits behind their low or failing grades in college. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages such as homesickness, but learning is a part of life and how to survive alone is a part of learning, thus the advantages of such independence are more significant.