In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Criminal proceedings are broadcasted on TV for general public in certain countries. I believe that negative sides of being showed criminal trials for all people higher than its positive sides. I consider, the only advantage caused by publicisition of criminal proceedings is that people can be aware of some provisions of law. In that way people acquire more knowledge about punishments, which in turn has led to decreasing number of crimes. For example, in some countries capital punishment is implemented by the government for some offenders. If people watch its proceeding on TV, they would be avoided to commit crime. Nevertheless, the disadvantages of being displayed criminal trials in judgement are far greater. First of all, potential criminals may plot similar crimes after watching these proceedings. They can depict other offenders’ weak points and develop new ways for escaping from punishment. As a result, they can carry out crime as a professional in hiding their mistakes. Furthermore, if children or their family members are showed on TV as an offender, they can be affected by this issue. It is undeniable that they can encounter bully and being ostracized from society. It may cause mental disturbance in children and also some children may harm their body and even commit suicide. In conclusion, although it enables people can become aware of punishments imposed for breaking a law, considering the fact that it taught the ways to potential criminals and cause children to isolate from society, I believe that the disadvantages of criminal proceedings broadcasted on TV outweigh the advantages.