In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so the general public can watch. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People are able to watch criminal trials on television in some countries. I believe that broadcasting criminal trials can bring about more advantages to societies than any disadvantages they might bring. On the one hand, societies can greatly benefit from showing trials on television. Firstly, criminals who have malicious intents are discouraged from carrying out their plans because of fear. In other words, watching other criminals’ trials and seeing their punishments can threaten them and force them to forsake their plans, thus, keeping society safe. Secondly, people have a feeling of security and justice when they see criminals being punished in front of them, especially when these criminals offended them or someone they know. This can be exemplified by witnessing the punishments of murderers or other offenders which can be satisfying to people and prove to them that their country is just. On the other hand, there are some minor drawbacks of allowing people to watch what is happening in every trial. It can frighten children as they might be watching television either alone or with their parents. The whole atmosphere in the court is rather harsh and not suitable for children to watch as they might see the terror on criminals’ faces and hear words like execution. Moreover, broadcasting trials can bring shame to offenders alongside their families. Consequently, people might start bullying offenders’ families, who can be good and kind citizens. In addition to that, when offenders finish serving their prison sentences, they can be faced with difficulties in finding employment, therefore, leading them to commit crime again. In conclusion, showing criminal trials on television is advantageous to societies since it threatens existing criminals as well as make citizens feel secure and safe.