In some countries celebrities now earn more than senior politicians. What might be the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In many countries famous people receive more income that politicians. The main reason of such disproportion is advertising contacts that are offered to stars. However, I am of a strong opinion that this is a positive trend because politicians are employed to serve the society and not to make money. The worldwide recognition of famous people makes them a desirable target for numerous advertising events. Such activities are extremely generously paid and considered to be a significant amount of their earnings, whereas politicians are prohibited to participate in any paid promotional campaigns with the only exception of free social advertisements. For example, in Forbes magazine there are a lot of famous people who are ranked high in their income, but no politician is mentioned there. Consequently, the earnings of stars and politicians are incomparable. Politicians are appointed by people to serve the nation needs and not to earn the money. If they have been admired as stars and obtained significant public attention, it would have interfered with their job and made incapable of performing it properly. In contrast, stars naturally depend on people’s recognition. Their job is to be in the public, attract attention and evoke emotions. Consequently, people pay them off by visiting their shows, purchasing their merchandise, and coping their lifestyle. This results in considerable income they obtain. For example, Kim Kardashian has built her whole career by attracting attention to her body and she continues to earn a fortune by producing clothing and goods to popularize own style. In conclusion, I firmly agree that due to career advancement stars have more opportunities to earn more that politicians, but this is a positive development because much money would interfere with a job of a politician.