In some countries, people spend a lot of money on their pets. They buy special food for their cats or dogs, buy them toys and often pay high fees for medical treatment. Some people think this is a waste of time. What are the advantages and disadvantages of

Since ages, apart from friends and relatives, man has always enjoyed the company of animals and birds. The question is, although there are both benefits and bane of pet keeping, is splurging income on these lesser beings justified? I feel that preferences differ according to each choice. To begin with, there are many merits to keeping pets, especially a dog. It is said that dogs are man’s best companion because they serve as companions as well as keep watch on his master’s house. Again, it is fun to play with pets -- cats, dogs, fish, rabbits and the like. I still have fond memories of Brutus, a cocker spaniel I had in my childhood which was so faithful, affectionate and fun loving that her presences in the family made everyone treat animals with respect. Furthermore, we imbibe nobler qualities like compassion that makes us co-exist peacefully with beasts. However, apart from fun and companionship, pets can be a liability. Firstly, it is quite difficult to raise them in small places. To quote, Brutus never liked being tied or kept in a kennel at all. Secondly, pet keeping is a costly affair, especially when they fall ill or need nourishing supplements. I remember my father making regular visits to the vet and monitoring Brutus when he fell seriously ill with a kidney failure. The medical expenses and diet restrictions made us spend heavily on his treatment and diet. So, in this age of inflation and jet set, taking care of pets needs both money and time. To conclude, I opine that everything depends on each preference: an animal lover would brush aside all cons and go overboard spending lavishly on pets; whereas, an animal hater would see the cons conspicuously and for him, spending on pets could be a wasteful activity.