In some countries people prefer to live alone more often than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Why?

The rise in one-person households can be seen as positive both personal and economic aspects. On the individual level, people who live alone may become more independent and self-reliant than those who live with family members. A young adult who lives alone, for example, will need to learn to cook, clean, pay bills, and manage his or her budget, all of which are valuable life skills. From an economic perspective, the trend towards living alone results in the increasing demand of housing. This is likely to benefit the construction industry, estate agents, and a whole host of companies that rely on homeowners to buy their products and services. However, the personal and economic arguments given above can be considered from opposite angles. Firstly, rather than enjoying the feeling of increased independence, people who live alone may suffer loneliness, isolation, and risk of unsafety. They miss out on the emotional support and daily conversation that family or flatmates can provide. Besides, they have to bear the weight of bills and responsibilities. For the economic aspect, the rise of housing demand results in an increase in estate prices. Therefore, people have to face up with the higher living cost. In conclusion, the increase of one–person household can have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and on the economy.