In some countries, parents expect children to spend long time studying both in and after school, and have less free time. Do you think it has the positive or negative effects on children and society?

In some nations, parents force students to invest excessive study hours while reducing their leisure time. I opine that this imposes negative impacts on children, including the lack of employability skills and mental health problems. Firstly, the principal drawback of this trend is the insufficiency of practical skills that students may need when joining the labour force. More specifically, if students are occupied by prolonged study hours, they would spend less time for extra-curricular activities, which provide perfect opportunities to obtain the soft skills like interpersonal skills or multi-tasking. These are what managers seek in their job candidates and graduates lacking they would have less chance to be employed. For instance, Apple, a popular technology company, prioritizes team players because developing software is group work. Therefore, students being too fixated on improving academic achievement are less likely to be recruited than those who are able to balance between studying and socializing. Secondly, studying too much potentially leads to psychosomatic ailments in children. This is because students often feel overloaded, stressed, or even depressed when they have to focus on dull, boring lessons for an extended period. The decreased levels of happiness may give rise to aggressive and anti-social behaviour among juvenile pupils, which would be harmful to their society. For example, in 1995, an adolescent murderer who killed parents claimed that they had been forcing him to study incessantly to achieve high scores in the class. The kid was under pressure for a long time and eventually committed the crime as a way of stress-relieving. In conclusion, the expectation of parents that their children should set aside excessive hours to study and have less recess time would result in students’ inadequate practical skills and reduced mental health conditions. Therefore, I believe this idea has negative effects on both children and society.