In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. Whare are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

Instead of buying a house, a large number people in some countries go for renting a house. There are many pros and cons when it comes to renting a home. An Oxford University study on people's interest in buying a home says that, around 60% of the floating population in a metropolitan city are living in rented homes. There can be multiple reasons when they decide to pay rent, rather than paying the EMI for a house loan. Firstly, the people who work in multinational companies are coming to a city that has more job opportunities. Likewise, there will be a large population that has moved to such cities only for work. These people have their parents and relatives in a different city and having the hope to move to a better city or country when they find better job vacancies. So, this part of the population has no interest in buying a home in the current city, taking the house loan which takes another 15 years to pay back. Secondly, the homes near anyone's workplace is obviously expensive and only a few can afford them, as most of the offices are located in the core of the city. For this reason, the middle class people have to find a home in a remote area, that is located more than 25 to 30 kilometres from the workplace, just because it is affordable. They have to bear the loan as well as the time invested in commuting to office, which will have an effect on peaceful life, especially, for the new generation Corporate professionals with no job guarantee. However, the rented home has its own disadvantages, like, we have to pay the rent every month which is almost equal to a home loan EMI, where EMI will lead to possess a property in the long term, but rent will not, we cannot make alterations to the rented home, there is no guarantee when the rent will be increased or when the landlord will ask the tenant to vacate etc.