In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantage of renting a home?

Instead of owning, renting a property for accommodation purpose has become increasingly popular in certain countries. This growing trend has both benefits and drawbacks associated with it. Living on a lease has several advantages but especially the flexibility to relocate and lower cost of living. With regard to ease of relocating, people in modern time are more career-oriented and open to moving to a new city for higher education and more job opportunities. In this scenario, staying at a rented apartment is more beneficial than buying a new house by considering the convenience of moving into a new city. At the same time, it is more economical in the short term. For example, the property prices in metro cities are significantly higher and not everyone can afford exorbitant housing prices and mortgage rates. Therefore, it is advantageous in every aspect to find a rented place to stay for the short term. Despite these advantages, there are also limitations of a house on lease. Tenants are not allowed by landlords to renovate or decorate their place the way they want to. For instance, sometimes they have to compromise with the wall colour or the floor tiles, which they would have renovated in their own house. Furthermore, tenants get the feeling of living in a temporary house, where they cannot change the existing architecture and do not even feel like calling it a 'home'. This feeling has a direct psychological effect on their mind and they do not feel rested in their own personal environment. In conclusion, the convenience of living in a rented house for a short period is a major advantage and no rights to replace existing infrastructure is the disadvantage of being a tenant.