In some countries, more and more shops are open longer hours every day. What are positive and negative development of this?

Due to globalization, retail stores in some countries are open round the clock. In my opinion, I believe this to be a positive development due to the plethora of reasons. On the brighter side, the opening of retail outlets 24x7 will strengthen the economy of the country. Due to longer working hours, the sales will increase which results in generating more revenues. For example, a study by Business Today magazine has proved that shops which are open day and night earn more profit and pay more tax to the government. Furthermore, this trend is a blessing in disguise for the people working odd hours. With shops open round the clock they can buy anything they need. For instance, people can buy medicines, food and other stuff at any time of the day. Thus longer working duration of shops will be beneficial for both the people and country. On the darker side, there are few negatives of this modern trend. Firstly, it will drastically impact the health of the people indulge in 24x7 business. People become prone to many noxious diseases like insomnia, diabetes and a lot more. For instance, even a study by the Medical department of Oxford University has proved that people working long hours at workplaces gain dangerous diseases such as depression and diabetes. Secondly, more electricity is consumed when the stores are open for the entire day. Consequently, this will increase the price of electricity and put a burden on the pocket of the common people. Therefore, due to all these reason, it is considered to be the negative development. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the benefits of opening shops long hours overweight the drawbacks. However, by taking some health measures and adopting other alternative source of energy we can transform the cons in the pros.