In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the previous decades, every nation had a specific age for employment, individuals beyond those age groups were not granted job opportunities in various sectors. However, a shift in this trend is observed in the recent years, where certain countries illegalized this discrimination in the workforce. This essay will outline why the aforementioned change is indeed a positive development. To begin with, most sectors urge individuals beyond the age of 60 to retire from their occupations. But it can be discerned that, in the current times, it has been made obligatory by various countries that people should be granted job opportunities, irrespective of their age. This will have a positive impact towards the workforce, as senior individuals have more experience and better sense of judgement. Junior employees can be better trained by working alongside their seniors. Furthermore, developing interpersonal relationship is another factor which the senior age groups excel in. For instance, elderly individuals are respected and valued by most parts of the community, due to their abundant knowledge and experience, therefore, while making a business deal they are ought to be more successful in convincing others. In addition, allowing individuals to work beyond the age of retirement gives them a sense of purpose. Most elderly citizens after finishing their employment years tend to become lonely and detached from the community. Keeping them in the workforce will keep their minds preoccupied and will enable them to be better associated with the society. In conclusion, when it comes to employment; qualification, skills and experience are the key players. Therefore, refusing to employ an individual based upon their age is completely preposterous. Hence, in my opinion, the current alterations made in the job sector is undoubtedly one of the best approaches.