Economic growth is the only way to end world poverty. However, some people say it leads to environment damage and should be stopped.

Industrial growth, which is the sign of economic development, has brought a positive impact to some countries in the world by lowering the number of poverty. Hence, some people believe this growth should be discontinued because it can harm the environment. I am personally disagree with this idea. So, in this essay, I shall prove that the environment damage caused by industrial development can be minimised without stopping its growth. On the one hand, the growth of industry in some countries all over the world has contributed to decrease the number of unemployment. For example, in China, people who do not have any formal education background can still get a job because industries there require a huge number of human resources. The increasing number of employment in line with the declining number of poverty and criminal cases in China. On the other hand, some irresponsible industries throw away their waste directly to the surroundings without doing the proper procedure for the waste management. For example, Shanghai, a town in China, has been nominated as the most polluted city in the world. However, this problem can be solved if the government forces the industries to obey the lawsuit regarding waste management system. To conclude, economic development has caused a negative impact to the environment. Fortunately, this issue can be minimised by implementing the waste management procedures. I believe, the benefit of industrial growth outweigh its drawback. The discontinuation of the development of economy can lead to unemployment, poverty, and criminal convictions, which is harder to be solved.