In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

In certain European countries, while other pupils stay in school to learn general education, children of a particular age range learn skills needed to be successful at work. This essay will consider what schools can do to prepare students for the marketplace. Firstly, many people develop career interests at a tender age. Hence, schools should provide platforms that can help their pupils develop practical skills needed at a job by incorporating more practical oriented classes in their curriculum. For instance, workshops and practical classes such as farming in agricultural science and laboratory work in chemistry go a long way in helping children discover where their interests lie. Whether a child will be interested in becoming a farmer or a researcher can be determined by such classes. Secondly, teachers should take responsibility for each child under their care and ensure that the skills needed in the marketplace are taught and practised during lessons. For example, strengths such as; negotiation, effective communication, organization and leadership are what employers look out for in their prospective employees. If these skills are imbibed into school children, they become more prepared for the world of work and eventually become successful employees of any organization they find themselves. In conclusion, there are a lot of ways in which academic institutions can help students develop the abilities needed for jobs. While some students may be interested in general academic learning, pupils who are less interested in this aspect of education should have unrestricted access to the education they need.