In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Despite the reduction in crime rate in nation around the globe, many citizens still feel unsafe. In my opinion, factors such as the misuse of social media and the inefficiency of the justice organization could be the reasons for this unrest. One reason people constantly feel insecure is that social media has become a tool used for the circulation of false news. Mischievous politicians who selfishly aim to promote their political propaganda use this as a medium to propagate false news. As a result, members of the society are burdened by troubling news thereby feeling unsafe. Another reason citizens feel insecure is due to the corruption of the justice department. The legal system has been manipulated such that many criminal cases are left unattended to. For this reason, people have lost faith in the competence of the court of law, hence, they feel insecure. In order to boost and restore the confidence of individuals in the society, there are a number of measures to be taken. Firstly, individuals ought to confirm the source of the information they get and its authenticity before forwarding it to their contact list. Also, the government should sensitise its citizens on the dangers of spreading false news. For instance, some months ago, radio stations aired advertisements, creating awareness of the need to curb the spread the spread of fake information as mandated by the government. Secondly, the image of the justice system has to be revamped. The judiciary should set up the legal system in a way that criminal cases would be heard and sentences pronounced without delay in order to restore the faith of citizens and keep them at ease. To conclude, even though criminal activities are on the decline globally, a series of events are responsible for the insecurity individuals feel. I believe the authorities, as well as members of the society have their roles to place to alleviate the feeling of unrest. For example, stopping the spread of fake information and restoring the image of the image of the judiciary in order to make citizens feel safe in their environment.