Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes.

Every year, the death toll in road crashes experiences a marked increase. Raising the legal age of adolescents is believed to be the best practice to guarantee road's safety. From my perspective, Although this safety measure might lead to lessen traffic accidents, I firmly believe that other remedial solutions can be adopted to mitigate this issue. There are numerous reasons why this notion is in favour of some, one of which is that young people always do things without thinking about the possible bad consequences. They do not recognize the importance of abiding by the rules, as they take a law unto themselves and deny responsibility for their manners. Hence, increasing an age limit for driving could be a rational decision to place a ban on them neither to violate the law nor cause accidents. In addition, what sets older people apart from youngsters is their experience with which they know how to deal with dangerous situations. To illustrate, if juvenile drivers come up against broken-down brakes, they might suddenly feel frightened, and they are more likely to be accident-prone. On the other hand, I am firmly of the opinion that imposing limitations on minimum driving age is not the best way to reduce driving offences, and other alternatives could be more practical. The first one is that the government should appear tough on driving delinquency. The stricter law is made, the fewer motorists break the law. Facing a heavy fine, younger drivers have no way to act within the law. For example, the law which stipulates that driving offenders are banned for life from commuting on the streets can act as a deterrent. Another measure is to promote people to use public transport instead of using private vehicles. Offered a reduced price as well as increasing frequency of buses or undergrounds, users feel more comfortable, which contributes to less use of personal cars. To sum up, raising the age of getting a driver's license could be one of the options, not the best. In my opinion, harsh penalties for delinquent motorists and persuading people to use public transportation can be other remedies to address this problem.