In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

In certain countries, despite the decrease of the serious crimes, people feel more unsafe than the past days. In the following paragraphs, we are going to discuss about what makes people feel unsafe and what actions can be taken to make people feel secure. Firstly, the main reason for the insecurity are cyber crimes. Though it looks like crime rates have been reduced, but people are feeling insecure when they use any social media or banking transactions through the web. A study from Oxford University states that 37% of India's crimes are banking crimes, out of which, 78% of them are through the internet. Secondly, the population that works in the late night have been increased, such as, BPO and 24 hour support jobs, which makes a platform for the criminals. In addition, the punishments and penalties are not tough enough that the crimes like theft, molestation and human trafficking are charged with few years of imprisonment. So, criminals are not much scared of the aftereffects even if they get caught. On the other hand, people should be very careful when they share their information in social media or any other site on the internet. Most importantly, not sharing the confidential credentials like, banking password or pin numbers with anyone may help us keep our money safe. Unfortunately, metro cities are the victims of all new generation crimes as they are thickly populated and people with more exposure to the internet. The younger generation should avoid hanging around with strangers, especially, when drunk. Alcohol is the main reason for most of the domestic crimes as it makes the person to go any extent when in the influence of alcohol. Making use of the police emergency number will be helpful when needed. The law and order should be very strict in a city, so that professional criminals will stay away from hurting innocent people. To recapitulate, each and everyone in the society is responsible for any mishaps in the surroundings. When we see that anyone is in need of help, people should come forward and volunteer. To add more, children should be taught that they should behave responsibly and respect other gender since childhood. This will slowly create a positive aura in the society. After all, we all are dependant on each other in this world.