In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is increasingly common to broadcast criminal court proceedings on television for the wider public. While it might seem to have certain drawbacks, showing trials also does present certain benefits. In my opinion, the advantages of this far outweighs possible disadvantages. To begin with, it is claimed that showing court proceedings on the screen might impose bias to people who watch these proceedings. None of them are perfect, the argument goes, since the court can be corrupted or misled by the false prosecution. Moreover, it might be bolstered by the lack of knowledge in law which usually is present in people without specific knowledge. For instance, recent studies have shown a high rate of convicting innocent people, which afterwards have suffered from disdain of their neighbours. Thus, is it said, broadcasting court processes might create and bolster prejudice in its watchers towards those who could be innocent. Conversely, one of the greatest benefits of the trials shown on television is that they have become more open and clearer. This is because they are broadcast for a big number of people of different education, who can notice inaccuracies or even a bribed process, so trials are pushed to be maximally just and open. The second virtue is that, watching these processes, public is becoming deterred to committing crime and also it gives them an incentive to boost their knowledge regarding legal issues. To illustrate, there was a substantial decrease of juvenile delinquency in Russia after the trials have started to be shown. These reasons allow to infer that showing prosecutions is more advantageous, than not. To conclude, broadcasting of crime trials on television is evident, and, although, somebody might argue that it creates more drawbacks like increased bias in people, from my perspective, these are entirely outweighed by its benefits which include the clearer court proceedings, a strong deterrence to people and motivation to learn the law. By educating the wider public and improving the law sector through such practices, we can achieve a better society with the just court.