Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Tourist, these days are visiting more adventurous spots then before. For example, they like to visit extremely cold or extremely hot areas. They experience both excitement and hurdles while exploring such places. Last summer, my friends and I travelled to the Sahara Desert in Africa to experience the life in remote and barren landscape. First the benefits of visiting these difficult condition areas is that, you will not find a lot people. Most of these places are still very rarely explored. People experience the raw power of Mother Earth and understand how early travellers had faced the harsh conditions and survived with a lot less resources compared to these days. The best part of our trip was the night sky. It was amazingly clear and what you experience is divine. Stars, planets and even deep space objects can be viewed by simple binocular. This whole beautiful scenery touches your soul. The downside of travelling to desert is the extreme temperature, in the morning it is hot and at night, it gets really cold. It takes time to get used to these harsh conditions. The other disadvantages are the lack of availability of food and water. It is not like urban areas where there are an abundance of restaurants and supermarkets. One has to travel to great distances to find the basic necessities. In our trip we had foreseen these problems and at the time of our departure from the hotel, we took plenty of water and food with us. Even with sufficient supplies, there can be unpredictable circumstances like medical emergencies. In order to deal with such situation, we had carried the first aid box with us and fortunately it was never used. In conclusion, people are visiting places where conditions are harsh to experience something new and different. As popular holiday spots are getting crowded, many tourists have started to travel to remote countries that lie on the edge of the world map. They face difficult challenges, but in the end, the memorable experience they have, worth it all.