In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. v. 101

Currently, the consumption of convenience food in several nations is leading to numerous health problems. Consequently, to limit this case, authorities should levy a higher tax on this type of food. Personally, I totally disagree with this statement because of the rationale following. First of all, it can be clearly seen that the fast food industry is one of the sources that contribute a massive amount of money to the national economy. To illustrate, due to the quick pace of life, people tend to have more frozen food; therefore, the number of products can be significantly purchased every day, which brings in substantial profits for manufacturers and governments. Moreover, the higher the demand is, the more food needs to be produced. This will create employment opportunities for lots of people to work in factories and produce goods for the public, thereby solving the unemployment problem. If policymakers impose a higher tax, it may impact adversely on the economy. Due to the increase in the price of canned food, the selling will decrease, leading to the scenario that ready meals are difficult to sell. As a result, the effort to try to tackle the current issue will definitely lead to a bigger one. Furthermore, imposing a higher tax can beget some unpleasant situations. To explain, if associations want to generate a high income while paying taxes, they will cut off some stages of the food process to reduce the production cost. For example, companies will not include the sterilized process, which is the most expensive one to invest, or they will import uncleaned food, which will considerably harm customers’ health after eating them. Hence, the original purpose of putting a higher tax cannot be fulfilled in view of a complete opposite result. In conclusion, imposing a higher tax seems to be ineffective to solve the growing predicament as it brings about numerous disadvantages. However, there are a few measures that governments could take instead, such as raising the awareness of individuals about the detrimental effects of eating too much junk food and launching advertising campaigns or programs that include scientists and doctors to instruct everyone to lead a healthy lifestyle.