In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To wht extent with this opinion?

Nowadays fast food restaurants are almost everywhere and people find it easier to eat there than to cook their own food. Also, it is probably cheaper than having a meal in another restaurant. As a consequence, people are now experiencing issues regarding their health due to the quality of the groceries in question. Some people think that having the government increase taxes on fast food is the only solution in order to prevent people from getting sick from eating too much junk food. This action could surely have the effect of making the food less affordable so people would be less inclined to buy it. Similarly, government taxes could encourage or even require restaurants to improve the quality of their products, even though this probably wouldn't be enough to help people's health conditions from getting worse. If we look at the problem from another side it is also very noticeable that sometimes, in many different countries, people do often tend to rely on fast food as their primary source of nutrition intake. The reason why that happens is that many products sold there are really cheap and always readily available so if someone works very long hours and doesn't have much money it's much easier to be attracted to these places. And for those of us who could afford it anyway, then it's not a problem if we really feel like buying something there. In conclusion, I would say I only partially agree with the government imposing taxes on fast food as I don't think it would be very useful. On the contrary, if these taxes were to be coupled new measures to make healthy food more affordable and to implement educational programs about nutrition, I think it would be much more effective.