In many countries, it is now illegal to advertise alcohol.

Advertisements for beer, wine and spirits are now banned in many nations. This essay agrees with this idea because drinking can lead to serious health and social problems and advertisers can often influence people to drink more than they should. Advertising alcoholic drinks should be banned because alcohol is harmful to a person’s health. Drinking too much causes serveral conditions including liver cancer, diabetes and brain damage. This puts a huge strain on the health service and not only causes suffering to the patients, but also to their families. For example, Russia had a huge problem with alcoholism and many men were dying from alcohol related diseases, but after they decided to stop companies promoting alcoholic beverages on TV and in print ads, it resulted in a huge reduction of such cases. Another reason why promotion of alcohol should be prohibited is the fact that it influences people unfairly to buy that product. The main goal of any advertising campaign is to sell more and this could be seen as irresponsible considering the harm drinking can do. Commercials often make certain drink brands look cool or sexy, in order to sway potential customer and don’t actually talk about the dangers. For example, Hennessy adverts often portray a handsome man in a luxurious setting, drinking cognac with a beautiful woman. However, it should be noted that warnings are often put at the end of these ad warning people to ‘drink responsibly’. In conclusion, alcohol is a hazardous product and advertisers should not be allowed to try and convince people to drink it and I, therefore, belive that more countries should ban advertising of liquor.