In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

Overconsumption of fast foods contributes to different health concerns such as obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure and heart conditions. The question here is whether or not these foods must be heavily taxed. Heavy taxes on fast foods can predictably have positive effects on those who eat these foods as a recreational activity. There are many young people who get together in fast food outlets and enjoy eating tasty, fatty, and sugar-rich junk foods, which are usually garnished well. If the costs are found prohibitive, they will be likely to hold their occasions at home eating nutritious homemade meals. However, it might be argued that imposing heavy tariffs on fast foods will have negative effects on poor people and those who do not have enough time to cook at home. Consider students who do not have a well-paying job, if they have any, and are busy with their studies and assignments. They usually have no options to feed themselves, but eating cheap foods such as burgers and fries in fast food restaurants. The introduction of high taxes to fast foods means these people have to either go hungry or look for other cheap foods which are often unhealthy being made of low-quality ingredients. I believe, if governments decide to tax junk foods, the collected money should be used to subsidize healthy foods. Thus fewer people will eat unhealthy meals. (this paragraph introduces the opposing opinion, but states how or why this opinion does not introduce a serious obstacle) To conclude, levying heavy tariffs on fast foods has significant positive effects, while the negatives can be reduced by providing affordable healthy foods for society using the money raised from taxes.